WIAW: The Best Summer Day

Today was awesome. But really.

Has someone ever asked you what your perfect day would be like? I get that question all the time and always seem to struggle a little bit with the answer.

I love so many random things that I always find it hard to pack them into one day.

Hence, my busy life.

But today was bonkers awesome. Almost perfect, I daresay. Wanna hear the down-low?

<<inserting chorus of yes’s here>>

Alrighty then!

What I Wore:

Yesterday, I was feeling super jazzy. Like wear-a-blazer-just-because jazzy. It was so much fun, and I was digging it. Style is the language of my imagination…

But today, I wasn’t really feelin’ it. Today was more of workout clothes kind of day. Ya know, one of those. I guess I just like to pretend my Wednesdays are one hugh jass Nike commercial. #sorryimnotsorry

IMG_1435

Is it socially acceptable to wear a sports bra and running shorts all day? Probably not.

Is that going to stop me? Probably not.

What I Ate…and Did

Again, I planned to wake up early and go to yoga, but after staying up last night to do some graphic design work, I wasn’t up till 10. Soo breakfast it was.

This would be the part when my dear mother says “tough life.”

Touche, mother dearest.

Breakfast

After editing my bagel post the other day, I woke up craving one of the best bagels on earth.

Chewy, doughy goodness. Oh my.

IMG_1558

Plus an iced coffee. After reading about Tina’s love of said delicious beverage, I became hooked. Apparently, it was National Iced Coffee Day too.

IMG_1459

Paradise, indeed.

I proceeded to crank some tunes and scroll through my blog reader for around an hour. Watermelon entered the picture…but went unpictured. (Irony, I know.)

For some unknown reason, I was feeling a little grumpy. The skies were gray outside and I didn’t feel like sitting on my butt inside for hours. So with crankiness and motivation battling it out, I decided to do the something I knew would cheer me up.

Hot yoga!

Seriously, it is insane how much I have fallen in love with it. There have been points in my life—particularly when I was doing track and field—when I stopped enjoying exercising. To be honest, I haven’t really been able to enjoy running as much since then. Whether due to physical or emotional injury, it took a lot of the fun out of simply running for the sake of running.

But back to hot yoga. I was feeling sluggish, which meant I needed to get out of the house or bust.

So I grabbed my yoga mat, filled my Camelback, and headed out the door.IMG_1439

I walked into Hot Yoga Sculpt, the hardest class at the studio, and gulped. The class was jam-packed by the time I got there, and there was barely enough room for me to squeeze my mat into the front of the room.

I’m not going to lie—at that point, I started doubting myself and wondering if perhaps I shouldn’t have come. But as soon as I considered bailing, I put on my game face. Hard or not, packed or not, I was NOT quitting.

And so I did it. The class was hilariously awesome. A mixture of hot vinyasa yoga + free weights + dancing to Jai Ho + peaceful stretching…all at once. It was crazy wonderful, and I walked out of that class smiling like a total goofball. A sweaty goofball, that is. 

By the time I got home, I was still smiling. Smiling and hungry !

Lunch

I popped a sweet potato into the toaster oven before I left, and it was waiting for me when I walked in the door.

IMG_1559

Roasty-toasty mmmm. With walnut butter.

Have you tried this yet? PLEASE say you have.

It is life-changing. Nope, not kidding.

IMG_1560

After I finished my sweet potato, I moved on to the second course.

Broccoli with a creamy cheese and smoked paprika sauce.

IMG_1563IMG_1562IMG_1561

Easy peasy. Fresh steamed broccoli florets + a garlic cheez sauce (nutritional yeast, garlic powder, sea salt, pepper, and smoked paprika). Super simple, but I’ll probably type up a loose recipe in case anyone is interested.

Following lunch, I got in the car and drove about 10 minutes to my eye appointment. The good news: my prescription has basically stabilized, and I’ll be a great candidate for Lasik in a few years. Whoopee!

To celebrate (hehe), I headed to my favorite place on Earth……..

IMG_1564

I walked around the store for a bit (nope, it still isn’t any less exciting to me Open-mouthed smile) and then headed to the kombucha section.

Oh kombucha, how I love thee.

I love tangy/acidic things and kombucha is no exception. I was about to grab one of the GT Synergy kombuchas (my usual) but at the last second, decided to try a new bottle instead.

IMG_1565

Kevita Strawberry Acai Coconut.

I had high hopes for this and took a sip as soon as I was back in the car on the way home. It was good, but I was a little disappointed. It didn’t taste like the kombucha with which I’m familiar. It wasn’t bad—just not what I was expecting. In the future, I’ll probably stick to GT’s.

Once home, I dawdled for a few minutes before grabbing my yoga mat yet again.

This time, I headed to the studio for a posture/alignment class. Normally, I don’t go twice a day, but my favorite teacher of all time was leading the class. Because I won’t be home for too much longer and she only teaches two classes, I decided to go.

Again, I didn’t regret it! I came home happy as clam. Relaxed in both muscle and mind.

Ilovehotyoga.

Dinner

As soon as I walked inside, I was met by Mum and Dad who were prepping dinner.

“Veggie Tacos” was on the menu!

One of dinner faves for sure.

 IMG_1566IMG_1567IMG_1568IMG_1569

The recipe is pretty no fuss, but my mom has been making it for years. I’ve never had anything quite like it, and as a vegetarian, I particularly appreciate them now. When I’m home from school, my mom always obliges my request for these tacos. I pretty much have the best mom ever. They’re delicious and always made with good stuff—veggies and love, of course.

Dessert

Did you guess the dessert I kept yammering about this week?

I’d like to introduce you to……….pecan pie!

I’m usually not a pie person, but I wanted to experiment a little over break and decided to tackle pie.

My family loves pecan pie, so I was crossing my fingers that this would be a winner.

IMG_1571IMG_1576IMG_1580

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Verdict? Two thumbs up! Mum, Dad, and Blake all gave their the seal of approval and deemed it a “definite make again.”

I’m not typically a pie person, but I did enjoy this too. Not too sweet and a slightly healthier version, considering it had no corn syrup or other random additives.

I didn’t change the original recipe too much, but I’ll repost it in the next few days for ya’ll !

IMG_1579

I also had some apple slices (gala + red delicious) later to tie me over until breakfast tomorrow morning.

Now, I’m finishing up a few things before bed, and mother dearest is reading in my other twin bed.

Thus concludes a perfect summer day. Smile

12 Comments

Filed under WIAW

12 responses to “WIAW: The Best Summer Day

  1. caloricandcrazy

    Sweet potato with any kind of nut butter is AHMAZING! :D
    cute blog btw, ;)

  2. I’m not a fan of that Kevita kombucha either. I tried Bucha blood orange for the first time the other day, but my love will always be for GT’s!

  3. Return of apples! I can’t wait – I’ve been craving them.

    I love the challenge of yoga and you should see my face! I get so intense.

  4. Pingback: Cornbread in a Bowl and An Awesome Vegetarian Chicken Quesadilla | You, Me, & A World to See

  5. Pingback: FRIDAY (The Readers’ Digest Version) | You, Me, & A World to See

  6. Pingback: Recipe: Healthier Pecan Pie (and no corn syrup!) | You, Me, & A World to See

  7. Pingback: WIAW: Five Course Meals & The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies…Ever | You, Me, & A World to See

  8. Pingback: Tw0 Days in LA – Part 1 | You, Me, & A World to See

  9. Pingback: My Final California Weekend: Whole Foods and Pelly’s Fish Market | You, Me, & A World to See

Leave a Reply

