My Final California Weekend: Whole Foods and Pelly’s Fish Market

SATURDAY

photo 1photo 2photo 3photo 4

After I finished my hot yoga class on Saturday, I checked my phone, only to be greeted by a text from Dad that read, “WFM for lunch?”

He’s a genius. When your Dad tells you he knows everything, believe him.

Or at least nod, smile, and agree. Because love knows no bounds.

Then, go to lunch at Whole Foods. Geek out and talk about the business model of Whole Foods. Institute a “no samples left behind policy.” Take lunch to the patio.

Because food just tastes better in the outdoors. Take pictures. Lots of pictures.

a) A hot plate, a cold plate, and a GT Trilogy kombucha. Is there a better combination? I think not.

b) Dad’s barbeque chicken sandwich on a pretzel roll from the WFM Specialty Meat Department. At $5.99, he scored a tasty deal. Whole Paycheck, no more.

c) The cold plate, including: tabbouleh, southwest quinoa salad, red lentil salad (THE BEST!), wild rice salad

d) The hot platter o’ goodies: two types of chickpea curry, stewed zucchini, crispy tofu triangles, chickpea fritters, curry pumpkin wheatberry salad.

I was stuffed after the combination of hot bar + kombucha + samples but quite content. Whole Foods is my weakness.

But love knows no bounds, right?

SUNDAY

photo 5

We met my grandma and grandpa (Dad’s side!) down in Carlsbad for an early Sunday supper at Pelly’s Fish Market. I hadn’t seen either of them in forever, so it was great to catch up. It was also great to see that my grandpa has taken interest in getting a little bit healthier; he’s now walking four miles per day, every day! He’s lost a noticeable amount of weight and is definitely eating more carefully now. I was so happy to see him looking happy and healthy. Smile

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (2)

[Mom and her oyster shooter. Now I know where I get my photogenic faces from while eating…hehehe!]

RESTAURANT REVIEW: Pelly’s Fish Market

I ordered the Pelly’s Special Salad (romaine lettuce; assorted veggies; and fresh bay shrimp, snow crab meat, and smoked albacore). It was awesome! I wasn’t in the mood for heavy dressing, so I asked for the salad without and wasn’t disappointed. The smoked albacore was my favorite of the trio—salty with a hint of sweet without being at all fishy. Yummers.

Mom ordered the charbroiled halibut platter and an oyster shooter; Dad ordered Manhattan clam chowder + a crab sandwich with avocado; Blake ordered the crab sandwich  with avocado; Grandpa K ordered two fish tacos + Boston clam chowder; and Grandma S ordered the steamed clam and mussel combo. The table also split a couple pieces of house-made key lime pie for dessert.

The Big, Fat Bottom Line: Pelly’s Fish Market

Food: A

Service: A

Ambience: B

As far as seafood goes, Pelly’s was great—super fresh and tasty. The menu was definitely straightforward: entirely seafood but in a good way. (I don’t think there were either poultry or vegetarian options?). Everyone seemed to enjoy their respective orders, and all agreed that the key lime pie was pretty darn good.

Counter service was efficient, and the food was delivered quickly.

My only complaint about Pelly’s was the state of the bathroom. The seat was up, when I walked into the bathroom (it was male/female), and there was no toilet paper. It didn’t exactly smell like spring flowers either, if ya catch mah drift. Winking smile

There isn’t a whole lot of ambiance, but then again, the restaurant certainly doesn’t claim to be fancy. It’s a good, neighborhood fish joint that is clearly a local fave. We all agreed that we’d go again for the delish seafood fare, even if it wasn’t a five-star restaurant.

After we said our goodbyes and headed home, I spent the rest of the night watching “Forks Over Knives” off of Netflix.

Whoa, loved this movie! Ironically, it touched on The China Study, which I’m also currently reading. I don’t know that I’m going to cut out all animal products (including dairy) anytime soon, but the movie definitely made me think about food in a different light.

To me, it wasn’t preachy or moralistic. In fact, in my opinion, the documentary simply laid out the facts for the viewer, showing the supposed relationship between diet and the world’s major diseases. Call me a dork, but I love that stuff. I love food at face value, but even moreso, I love learning about the greater impact it has on our world and health.

I don’t think I ever could have or would have majored in Biology or even Human Science in college, but I do wish there was some way to take non-major classes at Georgetown. I’d love to take some sort of nutrition class!  Unfortunately, the business school and the nursing school don’t have much crossover. Sad smile I don’t think that’s a Georgetown thing though; other than Cornell, few schools offer anything close to that. Oh well, for now, personal research will have to suffice!

I have less than three days left at home in Southern California, so I’m off to make the most of it. But in the next few days, I’m hoping to have finished the following posts:

See ya then :)

12 Comments

Filed under Eating Out, Recaps, Restaurant Review

12 responses to “My Final California Weekend: Whole Foods and Pelly’s Fish Market

  1. I’m a sucker for food documentaries too :) Though a lot of them talk about the same stuff, I enjoyed Forks Over Knives. I don’t think I’ll ever cut out all animal products, but it was definitely interesting!

  2. I’m so jealous of your Whole Foods trip. Those boxes look amazing! Their hot bar is so easy to get sucked in to, isn’t it?

  3. I went to WFs this past weekend and picked up a pretzel roll to make a sandwich with for dinner. So good–I could have eaten the entire roll!

  4. My personal take on the China Study is actually that there are some misleading sections and some cherry picking of data, but it’s a powerful book for sure. And I love that it inspires so many to try veganism!

    It IS frustrating about nutrition classes! And quite universal. Can you squeeze into Elmendorf’s bio class? It’s not nutrition, but when it comes to understanding human biology, I found it invaluable.

    • Interesting! I’m not all the way through it yet, so I’m reserving judgment; however, I did a little research myself and noticed that a lot of other people have said the same thing as you. Either way, I agree that some of the information that it presents is quite striking!

      I’ll definitely check on that bio class. Since I haven’t taken biology since my junior year of high school, I would probably be quite rusty. But ya never know. I’d love to learn :)

  5. Hi! Just found your blog and I love it!

    When I watched Fork Over Knives, I was reading The China Study too and was like “Oh! hey I’m reading that right now!!” I also like it because it doesn’t preach the ethical/morals stuff. I mean sometimes people just have to take the emotion out of it and just present the facts.

    Hope to find your thoughts on the book when you’re done reading it!

  6. Pingback: WIAW: The Best of New York | You, Me, & A World to See

  7. Pingback: Five Awesome Things About Monday | You, Me, & A World to See

Leave a Reply

