Food of My Childhood: Papas y Huevos (Potatoes and Eggs) Recipe

There’s someone in my life you probably don’t know about.

Someone I’ve known since I couldn’t even toddle.

Someone who loves me beyond words.

Someone special.

Sorry, it’s not you, Chace Crawford.

photo 1

This is Epy.

Since both my parents work full-time and have for as long as I can remember, Epy took care of me for the first 12ish years of my life.

Coaxed me to take a nap; drove me to friends’ houses; picked me up from the bus stop; made me an afternoon snack. You name it, and Epy did it.

By sixth grade, I became busy with school and other extracurriculars, and Epy would help clean our house rather than take care of Blake and me. But sure enough, she was still there. A little while later though, Epy semi-retired, and I saw her less and less.

photo 4photo 2

Somehow though, Epy still found a way to make sure I knew she was there.

On April 30th of every year, Epy would call to wish me a happy birthday. Every year, without fail. She would do the same for Blake, Mom, and Dad as well. When she did call just to say “hi,” Epy made sure to let me know that she was thinking about me. And of course, by the end of every call, Epy would say the same thing—“I love you mija”—which was simply her affectionate way of saying she loved me as her daughter.

I saw Epy yesterday for the first time since Christmas. After being more or less raised by her, it was quite a reunion to say the least. Because I’m busy and/or away at school now most of the year (and now, a large part of the summer too!), I rarely see her. However, when I have a little free time during a stay at home, I make a point to do so. I never quite know how things will have changed. But I one thing’s for sure—a big smile and a five course feast is always waiting.

photo 5

Papas y Huevos (Spanish Potatoes and Eggs)
When Epy, my old nanny, sees me after a long absence, she always wants to know if I’m hungry. She knows my weak spots: heaping bowls of cut fruit, fresh tortillas, and potatoes and eggs—my favorite. Potatoes and eggs, or papas y huevos, is Epy’s specialty. It’s an easy, no frills dish that can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. And let me tell you, it tastes like pure, childhood love.

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

4 potatoes, scrubbed and unpeeled
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp vegetable bullion powder
1 cup onion, chopped
3 tomatoes, diced
4 eggs

Directions:

  1. Scrub potatoes with a vegetable scrubber and chop into 1/2 inch chunks.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large pan until hot. Place the potatoes in the pan and reduce heat to medium-low. Add the bullion, and stir until everything is evenly coated.
  3. Cook for 10-15 minutes, or until potatoes begin to soften. Stir periodically to ensure that everything is browning evenly.
  4. Add the chopped onion to the pan, and continue to cook until onions are translucent. This should take about 5 minutes.
  5. At this point, add the diced tomatoes and stir again.
  6. Once the tomato softens (about 2 minutes), add the eggs to the pan.
  7. Move eggs around with a spatula to achieve a scrambled egg consistency.
  8. As soon as the eggs are scrambled (about 1 minute), remove from heat and serve.

photo (20)

Potatoes and eggs are one of those foods that are good for anytime, anywhere.

This is one of those foods that you end up eating, while the fridge door is standing wide open. Not that I would know….

Just sayin’.

They’re slightly salty from the bullion and have a whole lot of texture and flavor for such a simple ingredient list. If you dig savory breakfasts, these are totally for you. I love my sweet breakfasts, but I’d go savory for these any day. They happen to be vegetarian and cheap as well, if we’re counting party favors here.

Oh, we are counting party favors?

In that case, I should tell you that you should make these pronto. That you don’t have to choose between po-tay-to and poh-taht-o with these. That wherever or whenever you sit down with a plate of papas y huevos, Epy will be smiling in the kitchen of her sunlit apartment, wanting to tell you–

“I love you, mija.”

photo 3

16 Comments

Filed under Personal, Recipes

16 responses to “Food of My Childhood: Papas y Huevos (Potatoes and Eggs) Recipe

  1. That’s such a sweet picture! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!! Sounds and looks delicious ;)

  2. HAHA I’m totally guilty of eating right in front of the open fridge too! Sometimes you just can’t resist :)

  3. My dad lives for potato and eggs. He always gets that as his sub at a little joint near his work.

  4. Epy is so sweet! There used to be somebody to look after me, named Gladdis and she would always make me the best Mexican food.

  5. Pingback: WIAW: The Final California Day | You, Me, & A World to See

  6. that recipe sounds delicious!

  7. Sweeeeet! The potatoes look amazing too!

  8. Those could make a whole meal or a delicious side for all sorts of things!

  9. P.S. Penn Badgley > Chase Crawford.

  10. Pingback: WIAW: The Best of New York | You, Me, & A World to See

Leave a Reply

