Numbered in New York #2


photo 3
photo 3photo 3photo 5

Restaurants in New Paltz

  1. Tacos in Town: Mohonk is right next to the town of New Paltz, a small college town in the Hudson River Valley. For our first stop, we went to Mexicali Blue, an old favorite, for tacos. I ordered the portabella tacos, which came with red onion marmalade and avocado. They were a little bland, but seeing as everyone else thoroughly enjoyed theirs, I may have just ordered the wrong dish.
  2. Summer Stew: For dinner the next day, we tried out The Village TeaRoom, a restaurant focusing on fresh, local ingredients in New Paltz. The food was good but not amazing, and the service was incredibly slow—taking about three hours from start to finish.
  3. Japanese Feast: Determined to find better the next night, we went to Tokyo Sushi in town. Much better! I ordered the teriyaki salmon, which came with soup and seaweed salad. The teriyaki sauce was a little watery but still good, and the rest of the food was great.
  4. Let’s Call It Eclectic: Dinner at the Egg’s Nest Saloon was nothing short of hilarious. The restaurant’s décor is positively crazy, filled with everything from garden murals to Buddha statues. The food is creative American diner/comfort food…with lots of vegetarian options! I ordered the tempeh reuben, which was delish. True to the nature of the restaurant, it was served with an Asian-inspired hoisin mayo. I was too amused to question this pairing.

photo 2photo 5photo 1photo 2

Simple Eats

  1. Join Me for Tea: One of my favorite parts about Mohonk is Afternoon Tea & Cookies, which is held between 4 and 5 p.m. everyday. The cookies are made from scratch, and teas range from strawberry to house blend Orange Pekoe. It’s a great way to relax and enjoy the winding down of a day.
  2. Breakfast Sampler: Mohonk serves a simple but wonderful continental breakfast each morning. As it was winding down the other morning, I stopped in after my hike to grab a light bite and snacks for later. On my plate: fruit medley; house-made granola with golden raisins, pistachios, craisins, coconut, and raisins; a mini croissant; a mini muffin; a rice cake; an apple; and coffee.

photo 4photo 4photo 4photo 5


Dessert: The Saga Continues

  1. Sweet and Salty: Remember the slow-service restaurant I mentioned before, Village Tea Room? Well, the desserts were its saving grace. As a part of our dinner, one member of our party ordered the chocolate buttermilk cake with salted caramel. The cake itself was a little dry, but the frosting was absolutely divine. Recreating that ASAP.
  2. Honey, You’re Sweet: The next day, our friends went back to the Village Tea Room and picked up this cake—and Orange Chiffon wonder with Honey frosting and chocolate-almond “bees.” It was absolutely gorgeous in decoration, but I thought the cake (especially the frosting) could have been a lot better.
  3. Small Town Chocolates: Did someone say free chocolate samples? Dark chocolate come to mama. I tried everything from 66% Madagascar to 82% Ghana. All were amazing. I also eyed their macarons, which I’ve still never tried!
  4. Greeting Card Giggles: Because I’m sure you know a friend who needs these words of wisdom right now. B—consider this an early birthday present Winking smile 

photo 1photo 2photo 3photo 1

Odds & Ends

  1. Egg’s Nest Saloon: I mentioned this place earlier for their awesome tempeh reuben and downright bizarre décor. Still laughing about it. Can you see all those crazy decorations behind me?
  2. Yoga Reads: I had never read a Yoga Journal Magazine before, but I actually really loved it. There were a bunch of interesting tips, fun-to-look-at ads, and pretty pictures. Definitely enjoyable for some light reading.
  3. Carbohydrates: I love bread. No joke. Bread and I could be best friends. Well, until I would eat him. I thought this bakery + café’s name was absolutely adorable. The idea was that one can live on good “Bread Alone.” Cute, no?
  4. Rock Scrambling: Have you ever heard of rock scrambling before? It’s basically an intermediary between rock climbing and hiking. Basically, it’s hiking over, under, and through giant boulders and rocks for a hike. In other words, I love it. The only problem is that I can’t seem to find it anywhere besides Mohonk. This is Dad and J going through our favorite rock scramble—the Labyrinth.Part 3 coming up!
6 Comments

Filed under Eating Out, Travel

6 responses to “Numbered in New York #2

  1. So many delicious eats! Enjoy the rest of your vacation!

  2. I am all about that Breakfast Sampler! I think I have a sweet spot for breakfast foods–I swear I could eat them for ever meal!

  3. Sounds like an awesome vacation! Breakfast is so the best meal of the day… so a sampler… lucky you :)

Leave a Reply

