Numbered in New York #3


photo 3
photo 4photo 1photo 2

The Culinary Institute of America (CIA)

  1. CIA: Located a short drive’s away from Mohonk in Hyde’s Park, the Culinary Institute of America (CIA) has three restaurants open to the public. Mum, Dad, friends, and moi headed over to American Bounty for dinner on Wednesday. Before the meal even started though, I was impressed. Located on the Hudson river with green, sweeping grounds, there was some serious ambiance.
  2. Collegiate: For cooking school, this felt very collegiate and official. Were I not in Georgetown and were I interested in cooking school, I would be totally down to go here. I much preferred the campus to somewhere like UCLA or NYU!
  3. Fountains and Scenery: Like I said, the ambiance had me—hook, line, and sinker. Even on a rainy day, it was gorgeous.
  4. The Trifecta: Good food, good place, good memories? I could think of worse places to go to college for sure.

photo 2photo 1photo 3photo 4

Five-Course Feast

  1. Bread Basket: Have you already forgot that I have a minor bread obsession? It’s kind of a major deal. The CIA had an entire basketful of bread to choose from, but my favorite was this sea salt fennel roll. If only I had the recipe.
  2. Classic Done Right: To start, Mum and I had the grilled asparagus salad with pickled beets, goat cheese, and candied walnuts. I know this is a pretty standard pairing, but wow this was good. Grilled to perfection, complimented by some of the best goat cheese I’ve ever had.
  3. CHAR-zard: I was on the verge of ordering the vegetable risotto. However, upon hearing the waitresses’ recommendation though, I decided to order the seared char with grilled peppers & onions with tarragon aioli. The sear on this was astoundingly good. The skin was crispy and heavenly in every way.
  4. When Life Gives You Lemons: Eat bomb lemon meringue tarts. I don’t typically like lemon desserts, but this was awesome. The meringue was almost whip-cream like, and the lemon filling was perfectly tangy. It even beat out the molten chocolate cake for the crowd favorite. I was stuffed beyond belief, but this lemon tart was worth every bite. An amazing end to the best meal ever.

photo 5photo 2

My Two Loves

  1. The Written Word: How awesome is the name of their school paper? I couldn’t help but smile when I saw it. Wonderfully clever and apropos. I didn’t have a chance to read the paper but appreciate the french name nonetheless.
  2. Gastronomy: I’ve always been more of a social science kind of gal, but gastronomy and nutrition are the exceptions. I am absolutely intrigued by the science of food and how it relates to the human body. In some ways, I am perhaps even more intrigued because I’ve never been formally taught; all of the education/research has occurred over time, largely as a result of personal pursuit of interest. Georgetown does have a molecular gastronomy class, but I’ve heard really mixed reviews on the class. I get the feeling that the CIA’s class would be amazing though…

Are you still alive out there? I am so sorry this has been such a beast of a post. I hope you enjoyed my snacks (both edible and experiential)!

Peace, love, and I’m-addicted-to-the-Hunger-Games. Red heart

Your turn!

  1. What are your plans for the summer?
  2. Is there a place on Earth is “special” to you?
  3. What’s are your two loves?
Get ready for Long Island adventures :)
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Numbered in New York #3

  1. CIA??? WHAA! I’ve always wanted to go :)

  2. My special place is just a place with myself where it’s quiet and I can find a piece of mind :)

  3. Kailey

    Your photographs are amazing!! You captured New York beautifully

Leave a Reply

